Goldfrapp Return to Felt Mountain

by coldwarnightlife
Goldfrapp - Felt Mountain

(Via Mute)

Goldfrapp have announced a UK tour for spring 2020. Felt Mountain: The 20th Year Tour will see Alison Goldfrapp perform tracks from the album for the first time since its original release in a brand new show featuring lush and intimate takes on classics from across their 20 year career.

Alison Goldfrapp explains:

Looking back, Felt Mountain represents a very special period in my life. It is the first album Will and I recorded as Goldfrapp, launching us in a new musical direction, and the moment for me, after 13 years or so in music, that I found a creative direction that I was truly excited about. Being nominated for a Mercury Prize was incredible and unexpected, and an affirmation that we were embarking on an important journey.

I listened to the entire album again recently – something I don’t really ever do – and it was a surprisingly emotional experience. The songs instantly take me back. The album is still relevant two decades on, and hopefully will be interesting for people to rediscover and maybe also hear for the first time.

In 2019, 1999 dystopian lyrics such as “I’m wired to the world, that’s how I know everything” from ‘Utopia’, and “no time to F***” from ‘Paper Bag’, have become more potent. I was intrigued then by the flawed concept of perfection which has become so much more intensified in our self-reflective social media era.”

A remastered deluxe edition of Felt Mountain will follow in autumn 2020 on Mute/BMG and will be released on double CD, coloured vinyl and as a deluxe box set. Originally released by Mute in September 2000, the album includes the singles ‘Lovely Head’, ‘Utopia’, ’Human’ and ‘Pilots’ and the reissue will feature remastered audio, unreleased material, b-sides, rarities, remixes as well as newly written sleeve notes and rare images.

Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory formed Goldfrapp in 1999 and released their Mercury Prize nominated debut album Felt Mountain in 2000.  They have since released a further five studio albums (most recently Silver Eye in 2017) and a string of hits including ‘Strict Machine’, ‘Ooh La La’, ‘Lovely Head’ and ‘A&E’. The multi-platinum selling band have been nominated for several Grammy and Brit Awards and won an Ivor Novello for ‘Strict Machine’. Goldfrapp have also scored the soundtracks to the films ‘My Summer of Love’ (dir. Pawel Pawlikowski, 2005) and ‘Nowhere Boy’ (dir. Sam Taylor-Wood, 2009) and wrote the music for the National Theatre’s production of ‘Medea’ directed by Carrie Cracknell in 2014.

Tickets for the tour go on sale on Friday 15 November at 10am GMT from


25 March – Manchester, Albert Hall

26 March – Gateshead, Sage

27 March – Edinburgh, Usher Hall

29 March – London, Royal Festival Hall

31 March – Birmingham, Symphony Hall

1 April – Bexhill-on-Sea, De La Warr Pavilion

Copyrighted image. Enjoy it on our site!